Ireland and Scotland in same RWC pool


In December, Ireland beat Scotland to finish third in the Autumn Nations Cup

Ireland and Scotland will face each other in the pool stages of the 2023 Rugby World Cup in France.

England – finalists in 2019 – will play Japan and Argentina, while 2019 semi-finalists Wales will face Australia and Fiji.

It is the second successive World Cup in which Ireland and Scotland have been drawn together, with only Ireland making it out of the pool last time.

Reigning champions South Africa also join the two sides in Pool B.

Wales also played Australia and Fiji in the 2019 pool stages, finishing top of the group before bowing out against the Springboks in the semi-finals.

In Pool A, hosts France face three-time winners New Zealand and Six Nations rivals Italy.

Only 12 teams have qualified for the tournament so far, with eight qualifiers to be finalised by November 2022.

More to follow.

Pool A Pool B
New Zealand South Africa
France Ireland
Italy Scotland
Americas qualifier Asia/Pacific qualifier
Africa qualifier Europe qualifier
Pool C Pool D
Wales England
Australia Japan
Fiji Argentina
Europe qualifier Oceania qualifier
Qualifier Americas qualifier

Banner Image Match of the Day 2FA Cup footer

Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here