AUS vs IND: India Announce Playing XI For First Test, Mayank Agarwal, Prithvi Shaw Included | Cricket News


India have announced their playing XI for the first Test against Australia starting Thursday in Adelaide. The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) tweeted out the playing XI that included Prithvi Shaw, Mayank Agarwal, who are likely to open the innings, R Ashwin as the lone spinner and the pace trio of Umesh Yadav, Mohammed Shami and Jasprit Bumrah in addition to the usual suspects. Wriddhiman Saha was picked ahead of Rishabh Pant as the wicket-keeper.

India XI for 1st Test: Prithvi Shaw, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli (c), Ajinkya Rahane, Hanuma Vihari, Wriddhiman Saha (wk), Ravichandran Ashwin, Umesh Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah

Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli and Ajinkya Rahane occupy their usual positions of three, four and five while Hanuma Vihari is the sixth batsman.

India have gone with experience on the bowling front with the pace troika of Umesh Yadav, Mohammed Shami and Jasprit Bumrah.


The first Test, starting Thursday at the Adelaide Oval, will be a day-night affair. Skipper Kohli will leave for home after the first Test on a paternity leave and Rahane will take charge as captain from the second game onwards.

The remaining three Tests will be played in Melbourne (December 26-30), Sydney (January 7-11) and Brisbane (January 15-19).

Topics mentioned in this article

Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here